An Ocean of Minutes

An Ocean of Minutes

Title:An Ocean of Minutes
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781501192562
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:336 pages

One of Real Simple’s Best Books of 2018, this “strikingly imaginative time-travel story” (Elan Mastai, bestselling author of All Our Wrong Todays) follows a couple struggling to maintain their love when they are at once weeks and many years apart, perfect for fans of The Time Traveler’s Wife and The Handmaid’s Tale.

In this “beautiful debut exploring how time, love, and sacrifice are never what they seem to be” (Kirkus Reviews), America is in the grip of a deadly flu pandemic. When Frank catches the virus, his girlfriend Polly will do whatever it takes to save him—even if it means risking everything. When she finds out there’s a company that has invented time travel, she agrees to a radical contract: if she signs up for a one-way-trip into the future to work as a bonded laborer, the company will pay for the life-saving treatment Frank needs. Polly promises to meet Frank again in Galveston, Texas, where she will arrive in twelve years.

But when Polly is re-routed an extra five years into the future, Frank is nowhere to be found. Alone in a transformed and divided America, with no status and no money, Polly must navigate a new life and find a way to locate Frank, to determine if he is alive, and if their love has endured.

An Ocean of Minutes is a gorgeous and heartbreaking story that paints an intimate portrait of endurance and complexity of human relationships and the cost of holding onto the past—and the price of letting it go. “Gripping and graceful, [An Ocean of Minutes] is a dystopian love story as told by a visionary. Thea Lim’s novel reads like the birth of a legend” (Mat Johnson, award-winning author of Pym and Loving Day).


    An Ocean of Minutes Reviews

  • Nick

    》5 stars《It has been a while since I have been this devoted to a book. Dystopian novels were my favorite in my high school years. This took me back it time somehow. It is a book about time travel ...

  • Marchpane

    An Ocean of Minutes pulls a bait-and-switch that I expect will frustrate and confuse some readers. It appears to promise a pandemic/dystopia with a time travel twist, and a bit of a love story to boot...

  • Emer

    I gobbled this book up in one day! I found it utterly fascinating and was gripped by the storyline from the get go. The premise is that by the year 1981 America is in the deadly clutches of a flu pand...

  • Beverly

    Compared to Station Eleven and The Time Traveler's Wife on the cover, An Ocean of Minutes was only very superficially like them in that in the first case there was a flu epidemic and in the second it ...

  • Diana

    So, Polly and Frank love each other and Frank falls ill with a pandemic flu that is very rare. In order to get treatmnt they need a lot of money, so Polly ends up offering to work for a time travellin...

  • Nick

    I can't wait to read this....

  • Sunita

    Shortlisted for the Giller Prize 2018.Wonderful title, terrific premise, disappointing execution. In 1981 a deadly flu pandemic sweeps through the world, causing fear and panic. When her husband Frank...

  • Brooke ? brooklynnnnereads

    Whenever I use the term "existential crisis" in a review, it's guaranteed that the book is pretty darn good. Well, in my opinion anyway. That is the case for this one because if there was a time for a...

  • Maxwell

    This book was perfectly fine but nothing really that special to me. It has a cool concept and with that it can tackle some interesting issues, but I guess I just never felt that connected to Polly eno...

  • Allison ?hikes the bookwoods?

    The protagonist was usually lost, people were mostly mean to her, and this reader was generally bored. ...