Women of the Dunes

Women of the Dunes

Title:Women of the Dunes
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781501189593
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:373 pages

From the author of the acclaimed novels The House Between Tides and Beyond the Wild River, a rich, atmospheric tale set on the sea-lashed coast of west Scotland, in which the lives of a ninth-century Norsewoman, a nineteenth-century woman, and a twenty-first-century archeologist weave together after a body is discovered in the dunes.

Libby Snow has always felt the pull of Ullanessm a lush Scottish island enshrouded in myth and deeply important to her family. Her great-great-grandmother Ellen was obsessed with the strange legend of Ulla, a Viking maiden who washed up on shore with the nearly lifeless body of her husband—and who inspired countless epic poems and the island’s name.

Central to the mystery is an ornate chalice and Libby, an archaeologist, finally has permission to excavate the site where Ulla is believed to have lived. But what Libby finds in the ancient dunes is a body from the Victorian era, clearly murdered…and potentially connected to Ellen.

What unfolds is an epic story that spans centuries, with Libby mining Ellen and Ulla’s stories for clues about the body, and in doing so, discovering the darker threads that bind all three women together across history.

Infused with Sarah Maine’s signature “meticulous research and descriptive passages of lush, beautiful landscapes” (Publishers Weekly), Women of the Dunes is a beautifully told and compelling mystery for fans of Kate Morton and Beatriz Williams.


    Women of the Dunes Reviews

  • Julie

    Women of the Dunes by Sarah Maine is a 2018 Atria Books publication. “Perhaps that’s what a legend is, a memory preserved over many generations”What a fascinating and thought- provoking Scottish...

  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader

    4 fascinating Scottish stars to Women of the Dunes! 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 The description of this book captivated me. My alter ego in college enjoyed archaeological digs, so I’m up for anything with a...

  • Kendall

    Women of the Dunes is a beautifully written historical tale about treasures, mysteries, murder, and even a little bit of a romance. The story is told in three alternating viewpoints which includes a N...

  • Erin

    Thanks to Netgalley for an e-ARC in exchange for an honest review Well, I was quite excited to receive this story after being refused a copy of Sarah Maine's earlier book, The House Between Tides. Wh...

  • Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede

    The first book I read by Sarah Maine was THE HOUSE BETWEEN TIDES and I was blown away by the wonderful story and the atmospheric setting. I was eager to find out if WOMEN OF THE DUNES would be as good...

  • Elizabeth of Silver's Reviews

    Scotland, back and forth in time, murders, illegitimate children, missing jewels, secrets, buried treasures, legends, a permitted excavation, authentic characters, and an old estate all greet us in WO...

  • Juli

    Like her great-grandmother before her, Libby Snow is obsessed with Ullaness, a Scottish Island and the Viking Maiden Ulla whose legend gave the island its name. Libby is an archaeologist and she's exc...

  • Sarah

    Check out all of our reviews at https://reallyintothis.comHappy Reading, friends!Women of the Dunes by Sarah Maine Book ReviewThree tales all surrounded by mythology, secrets & tradition on the wester...

  • Marialyce

    I am giving up on this one, and boy do I hate to have to give up on a book. I forced myself to read up to the 60% point, but feel I am getting very little enjoyment out of this book. Time to call it a...

  • Dorine

    Her most engaging novel so far, WOMEN OF THE DUNES by Sarah Maine toys with the reader, teasing us with mysterious tidbits until the final page.Libby Snow’s family history is entrenched in folklore,...