Otherwise Engaged: A Novel

Otherwise Engaged: A Novel

Title:Otherwise Engaged: A Novel
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781510732391
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:304 pages

Life is sweet for New Yorkers Molly and Gabe: They’re young, in love, and newly engaged.

But when Gabe sells his first novel—a thinly-veiled retelling of his wild love affair with ex-girlfriend Talia—and it becomes a national sensation, Molly can’t help but feel like the third wheel. To make matters worse, Talia reappears in Gabe’s life, eager to capitalize on the book’s success and to rekindle what she had with Gabe… at least, that's how it seems to Molly. But even more concerning? Gabe doesn’t seem concerned at all. Instead, he’s delighting in his newfound fame and success.

Jealous, paranoid, and increasingly desperate, Molly starts to spin out of control. Her social life, work life, and love life all go to pieces. As fact and fiction, and past and present, begin to blur, Molly realizes the only way out of this downward spiral is to fight her way back up. But what—if anything—will be left of her life and her relationship when she arrives?

Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jennifer Weiner, OTHERWISE ENGAGED explores the life we seek when the life we have... suddenly goes down the drain.


    Otherwise Engaged: A Novel Reviews

  • MissBecka

    Thank you NetGalley and Skyhorse Publishing for this ARC.Molly was a wonderful character! She was meticulous, paranoid, funny, heartwarming and slightly bananas. I really enjoyed getting to know her a...

  • Renee (itsbooktalk.com)

    DNF about 5%, there's something about the writing style (overly saccharine maybe) that's not resonating with me. If a lot of my trusted sources like it I might pick it back up ...

  • Libby

    Fun read, while also beautifully written and compelling. Highly recommend!!...

  • Seth Palmer

    Fun premise. Beautifully written. I tore through it in two sittings to discover what would happen to our protagonist. ...

  • Michelle

    Oh my gosh. It took me a little while to get into this book - even though the characters were well written, they didn't grab me. The book starts off with this couple who go out camping and then the gi...

  • Char (1RadReader59)

    Talk about a storyline that gets into heads of its characters as they go through major meltdowns in their lives. As the reader, you see their private turmoil as well as sometimes their very public an...

  • Karen

    Gabe and Molly are a young couple living the artsy life in New York. Gabe writing his novel, waiting tables at night; Molly at a practical monotonous desk job to pay the bills. Patiently waiting to ac...

  • Elizabeth

    Molly and Gabe have been together for two years, they're on a romantic getaway for their anniversary and he has a surprise for her; there's a beautiful view in a remote clearing, sparkling wine and a ...

  • Sarah at Sarah's Book Shelves

    Thanks to Skyhorse Publishing for an advanced copy of this book.Y’all know I’m not normally big on the rom-com style brain candy books…they can easily venture into cheesy for me. But, there have...

  • Susan Peterson

    Messy relationships. Complex characters. Compelling story. Honest friendships. Witty dialogue. Heartfelt emotions. All of these elements combine to create this novel about a young woman whose life bec...