It All Comes Down to This

It’s 1965, Los Angeles. All twelve-year-old Sophie wants to do is write her book, star in the community play, and hang out with her friend Jennifer. But she’s the new black kid in a nearly all-white neighborhood; her beloved sister, Lily, is going away to college soon; and her parents’ marriage is rocky. There’s also her family’s new, disapproving housekeeper to deal with. When riots erupt in nearby Watts and a friend is unfairly arrested, Sophie learns that life—and her own place in it—is even more complicated than she’d once thought. 

      Leavened with gentle humor, this story is perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia.


    It All Comes Down to This Reviews

  • Amy

    I know I’ve been watching too many back episodes of Survivor when I read this book and hear TV host Jeff Probst in my head shouting, “Now THIS is how you write a book for MIDDLE SCHOOL STUDENTS!...

  • Barbara

    Summer is a time for relaxing, but for twelve--almost thirteen--year-old Sophie, it is also a time for saying goodbye to some things that are familiar and trying some new ones. The family's housekeepe...

  • Raina

    Sophie is lonely. She doesn't like the new housekeeper, it's the summer before her sister leaves for college, her parents are hardly ever home, and she only has one friend. This would all be bad enoug...

  • Alisha Marie

    It All Comes Down to This is a really great read. Despite the fact that there's not much plot action happening, I've always enjoyed coming-of-age stories and this one is really well done.The Good: I a...

  • Cindy Mitchell *Kiss the Book*

    English, Karen It All Comes Down to This, 355 pages. Clarion Books (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), 2017. $16.99. Language: PG (racial slurs), Mature Content: PG, Violence: PG12-year-old Sophie has just m...

  • Laura

    I was intrigued by this book because Sophie is growing up in L.A. about the same time that I was growing up in L.A. There are two differences though, she is living in a different part of L.A. and she ...

  • Brittany

    This is a classic coming-of-age story as 12-almost-13-year-old Sophie navigates finding and losing friends, the eventual loss of her sister to college and the tumultuous relationship of her parents. S...

  • Carolina

    It all comes down to this by Karen English has been one of the most interesting books i have read. The main character is Sophia, she has had many problems in her life with family and her race. The boo...

  • Lauren Grace Keen

    This book took me a bit to get into because the plot is very slow-moving. I did love the themes and overall message of the book. As a white middle-class woman, I cannot understand what our Black neigh...

  • Maywoodbooks

    It was really good- the only thing I'm torn over is its classification. I think it is great for the age of the main character (around 13 years old, freshman) but that creates a bit of a conflict: mayb...